Shiori

I recently learned that my favourite Japanese restaurant, The Shiori has closed. MD first brought me to the tiny restaurant in December 2014, and we returned a handful more times, but I never got around to writing a review. I was eating flavours and textures that I’d never had before, I was concentrating on enjoyment rather than recording each nuanced delicacy.

The sashimi, it goes without saying was tremendous. The couple who run the place explained that it was a challenge to find fish fresh enough for their Japanese standards in London. It was some of the best fatty tuna that I have ever tasted.

IMG_3331

Assorted Sashimi high grade

But beyond the traditional raw fish, this dining experience opened my eyes to the full scope of Japanese dishes, including wagyu beef and a variety of starches and legumes. The sticky, soft, sweet, savoury, fresh, spicy, subtle combinations of ingredients was always delightful. I found an appreciation for tofu and sea cucumber. And of course, always ending with the creamy, delicious matcha tea to aid digestion.

IMG_6212

Red Salmon Mizore

Asari (clam) clear Soup

Asari (clam) clear Soup

IMG_3335

Scallop with mustardy vinegared miso

IMG_6216

King Crab with cabbage and Yuba Roll

IMG_6219

sea cucumber & Abalone

IMG_3334

Wagyu petit Shabu-shabu

IMG_3329

Sea Cucumber, Mountain Baby Potato, Sweet prawn Koji-tsuke

IMG_6213

sweet shrimp (amaebi) with bottarga, yellow tail with koji (fermented rice), sweet black beans with kumquat

IMG_6221

Seaweed and radish pickles

IMG_3333

Age-dashi Shirako Tofu

I’m sad that I didn’t write a full review and that I won’t have the opportunity to return, but I’ve compiled a tribute of pictures and hope that one day I’ll experience Japanese cuisine like this again.

IMG_6215

Assorted Sashimi high grade

