Hotel Claris

MD and I stayed in a duplex room at Hotel Claris in Barcelona after spending the day at a vineyard in Priorat. This post is slightly biased as MD and I weren’t on great terms so my opinions may be tainted. I picked it from a selection of Design Hotels for the plush beds, the high ceilings and not to mention the gin & tonic rooftop bar. Unfortunately the entire hotel whiffed of incense sticks – is that signpost of luxury that I am not aware of?

The bright airy minimalist rooms turned out to be a tad dark and foreboding and perhaps it was the excessive collection of Egyptian art (beautiful individually), but for me they missed the mark of modernity. The location (Eixample) is great, very easy for the train station and for browsing the spikes and spires of the Gothic Quarter. The pool looked like it would be dandy in the summertime though the disuse in the cooler season had it looking a little rusty. Overall the hotel did exude a sense luxury (less the stinky incense) as embodied by the comfiest plushest hotel slippers ever. And the g&t bar was a convenient amenity, even if they weren’t the best drinks in Barcelona. I would stay there again (in a different room) and in the summertime to make use of the rooftop pool. Oh no wait, because that would mean facing the incense again. I take it back; I would not return.

IMG_7330  IMG_7340 IMG_7324FullSizeRender 2

