Dinerama

Last week I did something I don’t do often, but when I do there is a lot of gin consumed… I went out with my colleagues. And I am so glad I did, because at just the right level of peckish I was introduced to Dinerama in Shoreditch. I have always been a bit disappointed by street food. I blame Anthony Bourdain for setting up our expectations for what is likely to be flat, greasy and one dimensional. However, Dinerama has ignited my faith. The venue is cool and casual with an abundance of choice. I relied on my companion to direct me, first stop the taco stand.

IMG_0364

Not just any taco though, this was light, fresh and rich in flavour and chili spice. The perfect drinking snack.

IMG_0366 IMG_0369

And speaking of drinking, the perk of the whole night was a glass of smooth and fragrant Hudson Four Grain whisky from this rather hip stand.

IMG_0371 IMG_0406

The food highlight was the pork belly yum bun. A soft steamed bun with tender pork and fresh garnish, flaunting umami from the meat and tang from the spring onion. The duck one was okay, but I didn’t particularly take to the fried nature.

IMG_0376

